Lahore Medical Colleges abolish admission quota for other provinces

The leading government medical colleges in Lahore have eliminated the admission quota for the applicants from provinces other than Punjab, and have added it to the open merit category. The colleges that have made this change include King Edward Medical College University (KEMU/KEMC), Allama Iqbal Medical College (AIMC), Fatima Jinnah Medical University (FJMU), the Service Institute of Medical Sciences (SIMS), and Ameer-ud-Din Medical College.

Following the termination of the admission quota, FJMU has added 47 seats to the open merit category, KEMU has added eight seats, AIMC has added nine, SIMS has added 18, and Ameer-ud-Din Medical College has added three seats.

The applicants from the other provinces will now compete in the open merit category for admissions to Lahore’s medical colleges. Although this development will be beneficial for the local applicants, it will be a setback for the applicants from the other provinces.